Skip to content

The Streets of New York

February 1, 2007

Streets of ManhattanYes, what you are looking at is a map of all of the streets on the island of Manhattan.  I’ll fill you in on what I plan on doing with that map and how it relates to my 2nd New Year’s Resolution in just a moment.  First, I want to give you some background, or maybe a little long explanation, of how I got to this idea to begin with.

I am now at the beginning of my 3rd year living here in Brooklyn.  Actually, as of today.  I just realized that February 1, 2005 was the official start date of our lease in this apartment.  Wow!  For those of you who know me well, you know what kind of accomplishment that is in itself.  This is the first place (aside from childhood and college) that I have lived in the same place for longer than a year.  And I could hardly say that I would have ever imagined it.  To be quite honest, I never thought I was going to make it through that 1st year.  Needless to say, New York is not for everyone, and definitely not for the faint of heart.  I definitely got a mixed bag of responses when I mentioned that I was moving here.  And I use the word mention, because it seems to be appropriately fitting for how nonchalant this whole idea was.  You know, just like when you are deciding between cereal or peanut butter and jelly toast for breakfast.  (Though some mornings, that sends my mind reeling.)  Seriously, that’s how little thought I put into this move.

I had just spent the preceding two years living in Idaho, Wyoming and in the back of a bright, yellow X-Terra for goodness sakes.  When my friend Kris, whom I met while living in Jackson Hole, asked if I had ever thought about giving NYC a try.  Why not?  I didn’t have anything else better to do, right?  Decision made.  Simple as that.  I’ll move to New York City!  Never been there, this should be fun.

The events that followed that decision were anything short of fun.  (Sorry Kris, I think we can both agree on this.)  I could go into great detail about those first days, but I will spare you right now.  Maybe when we get a little more acquainted and comfortable around here and are desperate for something to talk about.  I will say, that if I would have really believed in some sort of foreshadowing (of days to come), I would have packed my shit and run then.  Maybe I wouldn’t be sitting here starting this crazy adventure (however, you choose to look at it).

But here we are.  Two years later.  Alot has happened that has continuously changed and shaped me as a person.  However, I have a hard time figuring out just what I am doing here or trying to accomplish.  Which takes up the #1 spot on my “To-Do” list everyday of my life!  While most people come to this city for a specific reason, as different as they may be, it’s still a purpose.  I’ve never had a reason to be here.  Other than, why not.  So, I’ve never really committed to this city.  And now when I look ahead to this 3rd year, I want to change that.  I need to have a reason to be here.  Even if it is something I made up.  I am a very goal-oriented person (at least it says so on my resume).  I have to set goals to basically get motivated about doing anything.

With that said, my new goal and 2nd resolution for 2007 is to RUN EVERY STREET on the island of Manhattan.  How many miles in streets are there in Manhattan? you ask.  I don’t really know.  Alot.  I’ve done a little research, but I still can’t seem to find a source that can give me an exact number.  I know there have been a couple of guys who have walked all of them, but I think their numbers differ quite a bit.  (One says 1279, and the other says over 700.)  Whatever the answer is, I guess I’ll find out myself.  If you have any idea, I would love to hear from you.

There it is.  My new goal.  I don’t really have it all mapped out yet (hahahaha, no pun intended, really).  I’m just gonna see where it takes me.  I did start today with a brisk warm-up of the ‘ol legs (they have been in hibernation for awhile).  So, now I’m 1.88 miles closer to the finish line!!  And I have to say that it felt wonderful out there in the 34 degree air.  Nothing beats the feeling of a new beginning…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanessa permalink
    February 1, 2007 9:06 pm

    great idea, it’s great that you want to run after baking treats for me, lol. good luck, i’ll check in to see how you’re doing

  2. February 1, 2007 9:17 pm

    almost forgot, here’s my blog about my acting classes

  3. February 4, 2007 12:21 am

    Oh now, this is just crazy. Tomorrow it says it will feel like -5 degrees. You need to purchase one of those face-masks.

  4. February 12, 2007 12:11 am

    I like your idea of jogging the streets. Seems like a great way to explore the city and see some of the things you miss when traveling on the subway. When I lived in Kansas City a few years back I did a ton of exploring by just going for a bike ride every night.

    I am moving to the city over the summer and would love to hear your advice on making the move easier.
    Keep the posts coming.

  5. February 12, 2007 10:31 pm

    Hi Troy!
    Welcome. It’s nice to hear from some new people. Glad you found the blog. Please feel free to ask anything regarding your upcoming move.

    Good luck.

    Lara

Trackbacks

  1. green LA girl » Walking Santa Monica
  2. Where in the (sweet) WORLD to begin? « One Sweet World

Leave a Reply

