Skip to content

Appreciation for “Good” Television

February 3, 2007
tags: , , ,

I just came across an article at The Morning News for anyone interested in a fun read this Saturday or Sunday morning.  Well, I say fun for any of you who can truly appreciate good television.  And what I mean by good television is MTV. If you can honestly say to yourself that you have wasted an otherwise good day (or many) watching a marathon of one of their ridiculous “reality” shows, then this is for you.  I could relate to the whole thing (maybe minus a few of the analogies that the author chooses to make).  And I can vouch for a few of you, as well.  As you were sharing the same couch, bed or room with me. 

What is this strange phenomenon that we have grown so addicted to?  Watching people act like morons with no shame just for the sake of our entertainment.  But who is actually the moron here?  The people getting paid or us?  To be honest, sometimes I feel like my intelligence is being insulted.  Yet, I still find myself voluntarily taking this abuse.  But I guess that’s what an addiction is.  So what if mine happens to be “trash” television.

It pains Victor (my boyfriend) to see me talking to the TV, as if trying to impart some sense onto these poor souls.

“Did you hear that?” I ask him.  With no response, I continue, “I can’t believe he just said that!”  “Who are these people?” I question again. 

Victor can’t seem to understand this strange fascination that I have for these shows.  I can’t really explain it either.  I think watching so-called “real” people make poor decisions, somehow, makes us feel a little better about ourselves.  But that’s just a thought.  Heck, I even tried to get on one of these crazy shows back in the day.  Not once, but twice.  Yep.  Thank goodness the good Lord didn’t have that in the cards for me.  I’m assuming that I just didn’t fill their crazy quota, or at least I like to tell myself.

Well, I guess I better go see if I can catch The Hills that I missed this week.  Then, I better get to work on that New Year’s resolution. 

[Dad- I hope this post hasn’t lessened me in your eyes!!  I know Mom already knows that I’m a sucker for this stuff.]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2007 7:51 pm

    Ahem, well, I’m with Victor on this one 🙂

  2. Emeril permalink
    February 26, 2007 12:52 am

    did i pick up the “talking to the tv” thing from you? i don’t think so, but it would be great to have someone to blame it on. it drives jeremy INSANE. and YES, i know they can’t hear me!

Leave a Reply

