Skip to content

Weekly Update #1

February 4, 2007

Week #1 LargeI haven’t decided exactly how I’ll be keeping you posted on my progress of running all of the streets of Manhattan.  For now, I think I’ll do a weekly update.  Since I just started this journey on Thursday, February 1, this post is only going to reflect my first 2 days of running.  You could say I’m easing into this.  Like I mentioned before, my legs have been on hiatus for more than a few months (probably longer than I’d like to admit).  My plan is to try and run every other day for the first few weeks and then probably kick it up a notch.  I would really hate to risk injury or burn out too early in the game.  And the whole layering nonsense is enough to make you rethink the whole thing and wait until spring. 

Yesterday was my 2nd day out.  It was 10 degrees cooler (HI 24 degrees) than the first day.  So, I added an extra layer to just about every body part possible, besides my legs.  I must have prepared perfectly, because all I felt in those crisp 24 degrees was pure exhilaration.  It’s funny how such a simple thing as running can bring such pleasure and fill-up all of those little holes in your soul with so much joy.  It was almost impossible to keep all of that joy inside.  And as I ran along some of the busiest sidewalks of New York City (think 34th Street, Macy’s Herald Square), I found myself smiling from ear to ear.  I continued running towards the sun, allowing it to warm my body and soul.  And it dawned on me, maybe this is what I have been missing for sometime now.  This moment in time that allows me to reflect on all of the wonderful blessings in my life, that are otherwise hard to recognize.  And as I watched all of the people that I passed, I couldn’t help but notice their looks of confusion, or maybe fascination.  Here I was, running on this cold Saturday with a huge grin on my face.  And there it was…all of the reasons I needed to continue this adventure. 

Week #1 

Here are a couple of pictures of the map I’m using to keep track of the streets that I have run.  It’s going to be fun to see it fill up with color!  A little over 4 miles down, many more to go….     

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Missy permalink
    February 4, 2007 8:07 pm

    Lara-
    I think you’re CRAZY for running in that freezing weather, but I am happy for you. I can see the smile on your face already, and it warms my heart that you are happy. I can hardly make it to the gym when it’s that cold, much less think of doing anything outside. I am enjoying your blog!
    Love,
    Miss

  2. February 4, 2007 8:26 pm

    Hey Miss!

    Always wonderful to hear from you! Crazy, maybe, just looking for something to get me reinspired…even if it involves running in this freezing weather! But reading everyone’s comments makes it even more worthwhile.

    xoxo…

  3. February 5, 2007 11:48 am

    If I could imagine anyone in the world running the streets of Manahattan (the center of the universe) – with a smile on their face as they pass, squeeze by, and inhale the city’s sights, sounds and people – it would be you. Good luck and BE careful. Give my best to NYC. BTW – I’m falling your lead and trying a full marathon (country music marathon) – http://www.runhollis.com – I’m running for Tom Fouce’s son Julian who passed away last year.

    Take care and congrats on the blog
    MH

  4. February 5, 2007 1:30 pm

    Yes, be careful you crazy, smiling, arms-flailing, mad-woman (it’s 20 degrees outside!)

  5. February 5, 2007 4:31 pm

    Mike- What a nice surprise to hear from you! I’m so excited that you are going to give the marathon a try (knew it was only a matter of time!), especially with Team In Training…you know I’m a supporter!! Good Luck…you’re gonna be so glad you did this! LM

    Andrew – think 0 degrees (so they say the real feel is!!) But I survived again!

  6. mccoy permalink
    February 5, 2007 9:25 pm

    that is by far the most original new years resolution i’e ever heard. good luck, be careful, those cabbies are nuts! in a show of solidarity i’m gonna run all the streets of my housing development.

  7. February 6, 2007 9:30 am

    All right Larita..where were you Saturday night? Sorry to all the others who have to read this off-blog comment, but I know she’ll read it..ahahah! You missed a great surprise party that my Mom, Kelli & Kevin couldn’t have come closer to ruining… & you are in big trouble! 🙂

  8. February 6, 2007 9:31 am

    Oh yeah..I like the resolution. When it gets warmer, I’ll bike next to you, so we can cover some serious ground.

  9. Julia permalink
    February 7, 2007 11:44 pm

    I think you should quit everything and start writing! Or, if nothing else, I hope you’re saving ALL this for a #1 seller in the future! HOLY ****…Lara, I envy you! You’re having a blast and enjoying life! And that’s what it’s all about! I’m up way past my bedtime (9) just to read all this 🙂

  10. Elaine Benice permalink
    February 26, 2007 12:55 am

    This running plan is going to allow you to check out the nyc thrift store market!!! This is perfect. Run Forest, Run

Leave a Reply

