Skip to content

The path to becoming a CBO…

February 6, 2007

                                                 Amai Business Card                                            

I’ve finally reached the epitome of the baking world!  Everything I have always dreamed of (or rather, never thought of).  I am now offically an executive of baking (or at least it says so on my business card).  Chief Baking Officer.

For all of you who have been asking me or just wondering, what is it that I actually do on a daily basis (besides run), here’s your answer.  I am Chief Baking Officer for Amai Tea & Bake House!  AKA the baker with a cool title.    

But that’s only one of my jobs.  I like to think of myself as a “freelancer” of my time.  I’ve been testing out this lifestyle for almost a year now, after I finally realized that maybe I’m just not cut out for a “normal” full-time job.  I have too many interests, passions, curiosities to explore to be tied down to just one thing. 

Although it may sound appealing not to have an everyday job, it’s actually quite tough and alot of work.  It’s a daily challenge to figure out how you’re going to pursue these interests and still manage to get by (especially in NYC).  I really think it’s much easier to sell out to “corporate America” for the security, steady pay, and insurance (yes mother, I know), but I just couldn’t find any of those jobs fulfilling.  Therefore, I have been trying to create the life that I want and, somehow, make it work for me, rather than vice versa.   

So over the past year, I have been trying out different avenues.  After having worked at The Sports Club/LA (in NY) as an accountant, I decided to get my NASM certification to be a personal trainer.  (Which I’m finally going to start doing next week.)  Still wanting to pursue baking, I became a stagiaire (French, for “trainee”) at the Institute of Culinary Education, with the intent of eventually completing the culinary program; however, we’ll just say that didn’t work out.  [I’d rather not go into detail about that experience on a public platform.  Just not my style.]  Then, I took a pastry cook position at a restaurant where my former boss was now the chef.  (Which I’m still doing, but it’s only a one day a week gig.) 

So, as my quest continued, and I made my daily visit to Craigslist to peruse the job listings, I came across an ad for a “temporary baker.”  Could it be?  Two of my favorite words together.  Temporary.  Baker.  I was intrigued and decided to do a little research on this “potential” employer.  After checking out the website the author had listed (which looks much more beautiful today), I came across a link to Lovescool.  Again, I was intrigued.  I clicked and there before me was my very 1st food blog.  (Needless to say, I spent the rest of the day and on into the weekend reading every post.  Then, I moved onto each of the links on her page, and this vicious cycle has continued for the last six months.)  I was so fascinated by the Amai story that I decided to contact Kelli, the owner, but not about a job.  It just so happens, or as fate should have it, that I ended up working for her. 

Who knew back then that I would become Chief Baking Officer, and Kelli would become such a dear friend?  Not me.  But that’s what makes all of this so worth it.  The uncertainty can be quite scary, but the rewards are immeasurable!  So, I think I’m just gonna keep on “plugging along” (in the words of my father) down this road and see where it takes me…    

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2007 7:18 pm

    Andrew-
    Thank you for the beautiful business cards! I apologize if there was any loss of quality between the real deal and the scanned version above. Victor spent hours on Photoshop trying to make it look as best as possible.

  2. February 7, 2007 11:34 pm

    It looks great to me. I’m just glad that YOU like them!

  3. February 7, 2007 11:58 pm

    You’re the best, Chief! I agree – it is easier to get a paycheck from the corporate gigs, but the stress is not much less. You’re destined to beat the system and make something great on your own. I wish you’d stay with Amai forever, but I know one day I’ll be visiting your bakery. I can’t wait. If you make pizzelles you’ll see Andrew there every day too.

  4. February 11, 2007 10:40 pm

    New logo and cards look sweet drew! Lara, congrats…I can’t imagine having a better boss (or coworker) than Kelli. I’ll have to come taste your creations next time I’m in town…

  5. February 12, 2007 10:33 pm

    Hi Kenneth!
    I agree…you don’t get much better than Kelli and Andrew.
    Welcome to the blog.
    LARA

Trackbacks

  1. Chief Baking Officer | StinkyTofu | Andrew M. Lin
  2. Potpurri « One Sweet World
  3. CHATTER « One Sweet World
  4. Not just a cookie-cutter job « One Sweet World

Leave a Reply

