Skip to content

Rewritting History

March 6, 2007

FEW HAVE GREATNESS TO BEND HISTORY ITSELF;
BUT EACH OF US CAN WORK TO CHANGE A SMALL
PORTION OF EVENTS, AND IN THE TOTAL OF ALL
THOSE ACTS WILL BE WRITTEN THE HISTORY OF
THIS GENERATION
    – robert f. kennedy

I came across this quote today and felt that it was not only poignant, but also fitting for our month dedicated to helping change the state of our environment.  How will we leave the earth for future generations?  Will the history of our planet be written by our actions?  We still have time to rewrite history, but only if we change now!  Each of us has the amazing power to have a positive impact on the world (not only environmentally speaking).  

Side note: As I was writting this post, the CBS Nightly News was on, and what did they happen to be talking about?…yep, global warming.  I know it’s not too surprising since it seems to be a “trendy” topic these days.  However, today’s topic on energy conservation also included my tip from yesterday – Bright Idea.  Did you know that California actually uses less energy per person than any other state?  How could that be?  The state rewards it’s residents with rebates and incentives when choosing energy efficient products as part of their campaign to fight global warming.  The piece was mainly about a community of homes being built with standard solar powered rooftops, and the benefit to both the environment and home buyer.

With that said, I will continue on with more energy conservation tips:

  • Unplug any unused appliances, electronics and chargers.  Even when devices are turned off, they still consume energy.  
  • Turn computers off or set to “low-power” mode overnight or when not in use.
  • Turn off lights!
  • Turning your thermostat down 2 degrees in winter and up 2 degrees in summer can result in huge savings.
  • If possible, replace old inefficient appliances with new energy efficient ones.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ginger permalink
    March 8, 2007 3:05 pm

    Lori –

    I am really enjoying your blog – I know you’re busy but you still have the toll free # and I would love for you to call so we can catch up !!!

    I’m sure you are ready for Spring – it’s been a tough winter for you guys 🙂

    Keep on blogging – I look forward to the updates ……..

  2. Ginger permalink
    March 8, 2007 3:09 pm

    Lara you know I’m crazy – I just had a Lori at my desk talking to me – I have a real problem with MULTI-TASKING …. It’s an age thing – you’ll have it before too much longer don’t laugh ~

  3. March 10, 2007 10:36 am

    Georgia…I’m sorry…I mean Ginger! 😉 So good to hear from you. I would love to call and catch up…been way too long. I know I have your # around here somewhere. Definitely ready for Spring…completely over the “arctic” cold we’ve been getting plenty of these days! Ok…keep commenting…love hearing from you.
    Take care……

Leave a Reply

