Skip to content

Catch Up (Running Weeks #4, 5, 6)

March 13, 2007

I know it’s been a few weeks since I last posted about my running endeavor…3 to be exact.  So, we’ll play a little catch up today.  While trying to fight the cold, a cold and then more snow, I wasn’t getting in as many days and miles as I would have liked; therefore, I didn’t have too much to report on.  However, I’ve managed to hit some streets in the past few weeks and supplement the rest of the time on the treadmill (wish that counted!).

Overall, I have to say, Midtown Manhattan (where I have spent most of my running time these weeks) ain’t much to look at.  Aside from the areas of extreme wealth (venturing more towards Uptown), where I was in the company of all “the” fashion houses, “talked about” restaurants and the most highly regarded real estate…there just wasn’t much to take note of.  Lots of big buildings, Starbucks, “suits” looking at me crazy, and traffic.  Traffic.  Traffic lights.  And more traffic.  Which caused waiting…stopping…and shear numbness (especially when not dressed properly).  I feel as if I have spent more time waiting to cross the road than anything.  [Side effect: twice the amount of time in the cold!]  I will say that the far west side almost had me believing that somehow I had, without noticing it, run across the river right into Jersey.  Yep, just a reminder of what the majority of Manhattan was probably like a few decades ago, before all of the gentrification (a term I became quite familiar with since moving here…used more to describe Brooklyn these days) started to take place.

Yet, it still feels really good to hit the pavement and explore…no matter what you find (or don’t find).  I can feel myself, slowly but surely, becoming more a part of this city, no longer just an observer living in Brooklyn.  The constant ebb and flow of the city reminds me of myself and my life…constantly changing.  With the first signs of spring arriving this week – longer days and warmer temperatures – I have renenwed motivation and inspiration.  After re-examining the map today, I think it’s just what I needed to continue on with this journey.  So, check back often…there will definitely be more and more discoveries revealed as we fill up this map with more color.  Speaking of color, the darker streets below represent the streets run in March (that’s suppose to be green).
Weeks #4, 5, 6
  

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mccoy permalink
    March 15, 2007 11:47 pm

    hey you,
    just ’cause i think you’re both genious, did you see what Outside was all about this month, the Environment. And can i just say, if you are some neo conservative who doesn’t believe in global warning, wouldn’t the world still be better with an alternative fuel source. i mean, can anyone argue that we may stand at a better negoitating point if China (who you may or may not know we’re closely tied to, economicaly) was tring to push thru a huge energy bill with Iran. Bt we can only move against Iran with sanctions if we’re prepared to take on China economically. Which we’re not.
    Basically, even by some small chance, if global warning is just bullshit, it’s still in our best interest as a nation to get off dependence on foreign energy sources.
    Hey Lara, you’re blog rocks,
    take care, mccoy

  2. March 18, 2007 7:43 pm

    JEFF!

    What’s up! I just got my issue of Outside yesterday…and have just started reading through it. Well…you know what they say…”great minds think alike!!” I will probably not get too much into the political side (although it is very relevant)…but I am anxious to read into the whole China/Iran bit. I agree…we definitely (no matter what your opinion on global warming may be) need to slow down our consumption and dependence on foreign energy sources. Speaking of, so Captain Moffett, has headed back to Iraq for another year…hard to believe! Don’t you hate that you’re missing your 3rd tour!!

    Thanks for keeping up with the blog. How’s life in CO?
    Take care…

  3. hannahwff permalink
    November 1, 2008 11:14 am

    Hello!

    I am contacting you because I am working with the authors of a book about blogs, and I’d like to request permission to use a photograph of yours in this book. Please contact me at hannah@wefeelfine.org, and I’d be happy to give you more information about the project. Please paste a link to your blog in the subject field. Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

    Sincerely,

    Hannah
    hannah@wefeelfine.org

Leave a Reply

