Skip to content

Green is the “new” black?

March 18, 2007

 

Since deciding on dedicating March to “living green,” I have continued to see the topic pop up everywhere.  Not that this is a new issue by any means and certainly not one that I have just brought to the table; however, it only reaffirms the (my) belief that you attract everything into your life.  [I even think that is the theory behind the hottest and bestselling dvd and book, The Secret, but I won’t get into that right now…put that in the vault for later.]  Such as this month’s issue of Outside magazine – The Green Issue -, which just arrived in the mail yesterday.  And if there is one consistent phrase being used over and over again…it’s “green is the new black.”  So, I guess that means that being green is now seen as fashionable and chic.  No longer are we looking at environmentalists as tree huggers and Birkenstock wearers. 

Everyone who is anyone has taken a stance against global warming and the Bush agenda, drives a hybrid, lives carbon-neutral and buys organic.  But what does all of this mean…and just how do we do our part?  Well, that’s exactly what I’m trying to do this month…learn as much as possible and pass it along to you.  I have somehow found myself with this overwhelming awareness to be particularly pro-active about this and many other issues (which you will hear more about in the months to come).  And I feel that it’s my duty to try and share with you as much as possible. 

My previous posts have been more like laundry lists of ways to changing/adapting some of your daily habits to be more aware of your impact on this earth.  And as much as I think they are noteworthy, I am constantly thinking of a better way to reach more people and to make the subject a bit more interesting and appealing.  With that said…I want to let you in on a few resources/websites that I have come across over the past few weeks while continuing to educate myself on the subject:

Those are just a few to start with…as I make my way through I will continue to pass on what I think is “good stuff.”  I feel that knowing the “why” behind anything is vital.  And once you begin to educate yourself, you will in turn be able to share with others.  For now, start making small changes.  Just becoming aware of your impact is a HUGE step!  After that, it will be nearly impossible to see things the same way.  Spread the word.  Get your friends and family involved.  Every little bit counts.

   

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mccoy permalink
    March 19, 2007 9:43 am

    hey,
    this is kind of funny because i just (finally) got done reading my Outside, which I got a week and a half ago, and i thought; “Geee, I need to get on Lara’s blog and make sure she’s aware of this great issue.” but, low and behold, you were a step ahead of me once again. damn you,

  2. March 19, 2007 4:52 pm

    Nicely put…

    You know I try!! It’s hard keepin’ up with you. But the issue is great…I’ve been using every minute of down time to read it…and highlight every bit of info that I think is really vital to know.

Leave a Reply

