Skip to content

Not “Magic” to My Ears

March 28, 2007

 

I’ve been meaning to post about the BIG construction site outside of my window for sometime now.  But today just seems fitting since it’s all I can literally think about or hear for that matter (besides the tunes I have blasting in my ears right now trying to drown out all of the racket).

Since sometime during last fall, the warehouses across the street from our apartment (directly outside of our window) have been under demolition.  Piece by piece half of the block has been torn down.  We have awaken to the sounds of jack hammers, dump trucks, bulldozers and – worst of all – screaming construction workers and “reggaeton” blasting from their trucks.  I was beginning to lose my mind. 

Winter came and the noise came to a halt.  We had peace and sanity for a small period of time.  Then, a few weeks ago, Victor and I were talking to the owner of a new cafe (one of several) that has just opened in the ‘hood…and it seems that this demolition was making way for a 130 unit luxury condominium building.  [Translation: Definitely won’t be able to afford to live here much longer!]  But it gets better.  The building is being constructed by none other than Magic Johnson.  Pretty cool, I thought.  He’s invested $12.4 million of the $50 million into this project.  And since the announcement of his involvement, literally overnight, you could see the development take off at warp-speed. 

First, there was a real fence installed with very tall poles that now house 10 security/surveillance cameras.  The foundation was cleared and digging ensued.  Now they have begun the fun part…pounding HUGE wooden beams into the earth with this large crane like machine.  Over and over.  Starting at 7 am.  Each beam requires about 2 minutes of pounding, which feels like an eternity when you are trying to sleep in on your day off.  So much for that idea.  Work actually seems more appealing at this moment in time.  So, I do the next best thing…take out the camera and begin to document the process from my window.  And as luck would have it, it’s a beautiful Spring day; therefore, making opening the window (aside from the abnoxious noise) much more enjoyable.  Because how could I ever begin to explain the sort of torturous hullabaloo that we are living through.  Thought I would share with you just a snippet of what we endured for 8 hours today!  Not exaggerating.  From 7 am to 3 pm.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2007 7:44 pm

    Yes I have to agree, going to work definitely sounds much better then putting up with the construction noise for nothing less then 8 hours… Talk about a ringing in your ears!!

    When is the construction slated to be completed? Do you think that the new complex will affect your current rent payment amount?

  2. April 5, 2007 12:07 am

    Hi Michael!

    I’ve read that they will begin selling the units this June with a tentative ready date of June 2008! I’m sure that my rent will only continue to increase just as it has every year since I’ve lived here. Do you live in the area?

    Thanks for visiting and the comment!

  3. delph permalink
    April 6, 2007 4:29 pm

    Lara, come over to Jersey city, it’ s nice and quiet! That noise is insane…

    And, seriously, how about we meet up soon? I love that i can follow your life thru your blog, but we still live in the same city 🙂 Let me know when’s good for you busy bee!

    bisous

  4. April 10, 2007 1:12 am

    Oh man, no one can ever complain about cars honking outside their windows again. That takes the cake! I hope they weren’t looking back at you through the window this time at least 🙂

  5. Aaron permalink
    May 2, 2007 8:58 am

    hi, I’ve just been reading things by others who, like me, live close to the site and whose sanity it is destroying. I live right across the street. I would not have thought that it was possible to just hammer a tree trunk into the ground, but apparently it is. is there nothing we can do about this??

  6. May 2, 2007 10:56 am

    Hi Aaron! I know I’m sitting here slowly losing my mind. Fortunately, I work early enough on the other days that I don’t have to listen to this all day; however, today is my day to sleep in…and it’s nearly impossible when they begin pounding a huge log into the earth at 7:29am!

    Apparently, there was suppose to be a hearing before a judge about this construction project last weekend. But by the looks of it, it doesn’t seem as though much has changed. I’m not sure how much more I can handle of all of this! You can try talking to Heather at newyorkshitty.com…she lives in the area as well and seems to have a little more insight.

    Good luck and try to stay sane!

  7. Johanna permalink
    May 11, 2007 1:49 pm

    A similar situation is occurring in the lot next to my apartment in Williamsburg, although without Magic’s involvement. A former bakery was demolished last fall, and the pile-driving occurs most days early in the morning, which is awesome, because I love the sound of the cosmic washing-machine early in the morning rattling my walls.

    Best of luck holding on to your sanity.

Trackbacks

  1. newyorkshitty.com » Blog Archive » Magic Johnson’s Big-ass Tool
  2. New Sheriff in Town « One Sweet World

Leave a Reply

