Skip to content

Mind, Body, Soul

April 9, 2007

Week # 11

After a really long and self-torturous 2006, I finally feel like I’m hitting my stride (literally and figuratively) again.  And it feels good.  As I was out on a run last week, it dawned on me that I was experiencing the oh-so-talked-about “mind, body, soul” connection.  A term that seems to be used when referring to a number of things in life.  Especially where meditation, yoga and zen are involved.  But are there other ways to experience this connection?  I think so.  Like everything else, it’s unique to each of us.  We seek solace and spiritual enlightenment in different places.  Alot of times, we don’t even realize that these outlets are part of a bigger picture, which are leading us closer to that moment of peace and harmony.

During that run, I felt like I was well on my way to reaching that ever elusive feeling.  Like after months of personal struggles…I was somehow pulling myself out…one step at a time.  And I simply can’t express it in words.  It was fantastic!  For the first time in over year, my mind is in constant motion with wonderful ideas and passions…my body is growing stronger and moving me closer to my goals…which in turn has led to a lighter and happier soul.  If I didn’t know better, I would have thought I was actually glowing at that moment.  My smile couldn’t have gotten any bigger.  Even as I reflect back on that beautiful Spring-like day last week, I find myself giddy with joy and rejuvenation!  

Unfortunately though, reality comes back banging on our door just as quickly as we shut it out.  But what I realized is that each time that I go back to answer…I’m stronger and more prepared for whatever awaits me.  That’s why it is critical to have a strong balance between your mind, body and soul.  When one is broken, it’s almost impossible to face our daily challenges head on.  Now, I can look back at 2006 and see exactly how I had become so disconnected.  My mind was in a bad place, I stopped running, and in turn, my soul was heavy with anxiety, confusion, insecurity and discontent. 

I wish that I could say that all of those feelings have just magically disappeared, but hey, this is real life.  But I can say that I feel 110% better about my place in this world.  I’m still confused and a bit discontent, with moments of anxiety (no longer days)…but I can think clearer, and I have HOPE once again.  I have lots of HOPE for this world, and a renewed sense of direction. 

All of this during an afternoon run in the city!  Go figure.  Who knew that this crazy new year’s resolution was going to lead to this?  That’s the best part.    

So, here’s a most recent map of my journeys through the city.  The blue represents streets covered in April.  I’m hoping that winter is almost over, it’s getting harder and harder to talk myself into going out in the cold.  But I did today…and it was totally worth it! 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2007 1:21 am

    This post is inspirational for me. Thanks for sharing your experience.

  2. denmark98 permalink
    April 10, 2007 3:25 pm

    I lived and ran in NYC from 1990-1995 and it is amazing how much can be found while running in the city. It seems at times that so much is just random events but actually it when you have purpose and you recognize that you have part to play other things that seem random, sporatic and choatic all of sudden share in your purpose. I am impressed by your steadfastness and whatever it is that you looking for stop looking and let it just come to you.

  3. April 10, 2007 11:15 pm

    Thank you both Kelli and denmark98 for your words…I appreciate you reading!

Leave a Reply

