Skip to content

New Sheriff in Town

April 9, 2007

Well, the neighborhood, it is a changin’.  Here’s the big news making headlines in Greenpoint today:

Starbucks in Greennpoint

We’ve finally arrived, right?  Well, not exactly.  Just as we were beginning to see hip, little cafes emerging around the ‘hood…the big boys rolled in with guns blazin’.  (Ok…a little dramatic, I know.)  As much as I love free enterprise, competition and employment opportunities; I also have grown a bit fond of our little Polish community over the past 3 years.  I love being drawn into Bakery Rzeszowska by the wonderful smells of beautiful danishes, pastries and bread…and only being able to point at what I want because I don’t speak a lick of Polish (besides my last name).  And I also love the fact that I can purchase one of those lovely handmade poppyseed rollsfor the price (or cheaper) of what a coffee costs at Starbucks.  That’s what makes (made) Greenpoint such a wacky, yet special place to live.  But it’s here to stay.  And we know it’s just the beginning of what’s to come.  Hell, even Magic Johnson thinks it’s the next thing.

I admit, although I’m not too much of a Starbucks fan, I did stop in today.  I figured it was my duty after having watched this little community grow and change over the past few years.  But it will probably be a long time before I visit again.

PROGRAMMING NOTE:  While we’re on the subject of coffee, I really want to urge all of you to tune into PBS for the premier of an amazing documentary/independent film, Black Gold.  Victor and I saw it last year when it was passing through New York.  It is a poignant look at how every decision we make as consumers and humans affects another.  I could only hope that it changes the way you look at what’s in your cup every morning, as well as, reevaluate your purchasing power.  We have the power to change the lives of so many people, if only we made wiser decisions about what we buy.  I’m definitely going to talk more about Fair Trade products, especially coffee, in the days to come; however, I really wanted to make y’all aware of this film.  Please check on the site for times and channels.  I know it’s going to be on late here…so, if you have to…TiVo or record (in my case) or just stay up and watch!  It’s worth it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. delphine permalink
    April 10, 2007 4:58 pm

    Hey there chica! how about we meet up and chat around a cup of fair trade coffee??

    bise

  2. April 10, 2007 10:47 pm

    Perfect! I’m there…just tell me when. Thanks for always reading!!

    xoxo…

  3. delph permalink
    April 19, 2007 5:42 pm

    well, might have to be in Jersey city, since I am now moving in with Fernando… we def. need to get together and celebrate a little.. i say we skip coffee for bubbly! Are you around/free this week-end?

    Bisous

  4. May 10, 2007 2:54 pm

    For those of you who are interested in the issue of Fair trade, there is a powerful documentary out called “Black Gold,” that documents the lives of Ethiopian coffee farmers and clearly demonstrates why all of us should be asking for Fair Trade coffee. The film was recently released in the theater but is now available to the public on DVD via California Newsreel. You can read more about the documentary or pick up a copy of it here at http://newsreel.org/

Leave a Reply

