Skip to content

Good Eats

May 25, 2007

Smokin' Pork

My apologies to all of you vegetarians, vegans, non-pig eaters for the above picture.  But for all of you who enjoy a little (or alot) meat in your life…doesn’t that smoked pork look scrumptious?!  Well, it does to me.  And it tasted even better than it looks.

For the past several Wednesdays (my day off), Victor and I have been getting out and enjoying the beautiful spring weather and exploring more of Greenpoint.  We’ve mostly been trying out new coffeeshops that have somehow gone unnoticed because they lie outside of our daily commuting route.  (I will be posting more about them later.) 

This past Wednesday was no different; however, we were planning to get a bite to eat at our local favorite before setting out to find something new.  But just as I had decided in my head what I was going to order, we looked up to find that Brooklyn Label had been converted into a tv/movie set for the day.  Bummer, yes.  Because I was starving and had already had my mind on eating there.  Where to next? 

The weather was amazing, and we had nothing but time.  So, we started walking towards Bedford Avenue (Williamsburg). 

 My mind shifted. 

I began thinking about what choices we have over there.  Do we go to a reliable standby or try something new?  As much as I love trying new things, when I’m hungry and on the edge of irritability I’m not always thinking rationally.  Therefore, I was thinking we’d play it safe this time and hit up the Middle Eastern restaurant for a shawarma plate.  But once we got to Bedford, we just kept walking…clearly Middle Eastern was not what Victor had in mind. 

Then, my mind shifted again.  

I remembered this little joint, Pies ‘n Thighs, that I had heard about down by the Williamsburg Bridge.  I figured we might as well give it a whirl if we had walked this far. 

We stepped into the tiny, hole-in-the wall, which reminded me of walking into someone’s kitchen – shelves filled with well-worn cookbooks, fresh pies and cookies on the counter, luscious looking biscuits and cornbread plated and ready to eat, friends sitting around chatting.  The nice girl behind the counter pointed our attention upward to the short and sweet menu. 
Pies 'n Thighs Menu Pies 'n Thighs Desserts

We quickly looked it over.  I was immediately sold on the Pulled Pork.  Being a southern girl at heart, I’m always looking for a way to fill the BBQ Pulled Pork void I feel living here in the North.  Victor went for the Fried Chicken, which came with that mouth-watering biscuit. 

We took a seat outside, in what looked like an old parking lot, at one of the tables covered with a retro, red-checked tablecloth accompanied by the smell of slow-smoked pork. 

The pork was beautifully seasoned and moist, topped with fresh, homemade cole slaw (which I have never eaten before) and pickles.  In the words of Rachel Ray, “Yum-O!”  Even though the fries were just OK, they were a nice complement to the sandwich.  I’m usually much more interested in trying whatever it is that Victor orders, but I think that I was so wrapped up in my sandwich that I didn’t pay much attention.  Although, all of it looked really good.

Being a baker myself, I was really impressed by their picture-esque pies (one looked like strawberry-rhubarb), which I was hoping to have room for.  However, I just couldn’t stop eating that pork.  Next time.  Because I will definitely be back for another one of those sandwiches.

If you are in the area and have a hankering for a some fresh southern food, I would definitely recommend that you check it out. 
Pies 'n Thighs Pies 'n Thighs

2 Comments leave one →
  1. delph permalink
    May 28, 2007 12:07 pm

    yum… maybe we should try and meet there on your day off… congrats on ur hamptons gig… would love to see u when u have some well deserved free time! bisous

  2. May 29, 2007 10:11 pm

    wherever…whenever…would love to see you some time soon! hope your transition to jersey city has been a smooth one. definitely gonna figure out how/when we can hang out. ’til then…take care.

Leave a Reply

