Skip to content

Happy (Belated)…

June 1, 2007

NATIONAL DOUGHNUT DAY!
Peter Pan
Front window of Peter Pan Donut & Pastry Shop

Ok…since that may be the best excuse for a holiday ever, and somehow I’ve never heard of this oh-so-glorious day.  Seriously, how have I lived the past 28 years oblivious to this celebration.  And before you ask, yes, the doughnut has had it’s day of appreciation since 1938, when the Chicago Salvation Army established it as both a fundraiser and a way to honor the World War I volunteers who prepared doughnuts for the troops.  Sounds pretty legitimate to me!  And every year (on the first Friday of June), in honor of this very special occasion, Krispy Kreme gives out free donuts.  I’m just bummed that I didn’t know about this earlier.

Funny thing is, as of late, I have been on somewhat of an abnormal donut craze.  Just the other day, I jumped on my bike and pedaled like crazy down Manhattan Avenue, in hopes of scoring a few at our local donut spot, Peter Pan, before it closed.  Then a couple days later, while waiting on Victor in the city, I walked several blocks out of the way to try out a couple at The Donut Pub.  Which I have to admit, do not measure up to those little gems at Peter Pan.  And to make it fair, I had the same kind in both places – white cream filled and jelly.  That led me to my next mission – after my excursion to The Donut Pub and still killing time waiting on Victor – I went on a search for a deep frying thermometer.  Next up: HOMEMADE!   

So, has anyone else ever heard of this?

More Donut Love:
The Serious Eats National Doughnut Honor Roll  – lists some great donut spots all over the country.

The Blognut – for everything donuts.

The Donut Pub                          Peter Pan Donut & Pastry Shop
203 W. 14th Street                   727 Manhattan Avenue
New York, NY                            Greenpoint, Brooklyn

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2007 5:39 pm

    For something completely different try Doughnut Plant on the Lower East Side. It looks like you haven’t run past there yet. I don’t know if you can stop for doughnuts in the middle of running but it’s almost worth whatever bad might come of it.
    http://testofwill.blogspot.com/2004/12/doughnut-plant.html
    http://testofwill.blogspot.com/2007/05/line-at-doughnut-plant.html

Trackbacks

  1. That time of year again… « One Sweet World

Leave a Reply

