Skip to content

Today Show Superstar

June 26, 2007

Today Pre-Show Set

Yesterday was a big day for me.  I made my television debut on the Today Show.  It still seems surreal to me because I’m one of those people that doesn’t think much about things like that.  Never would I have thought that 1) I would be on television and 2) I would be on there exercising!  The opportunity just fell into my lap without any kind of warning.  And when someone asks you seriously, “do you want to be on the Today Show?”…it’s really a no-brainer.  Only after laughing really hard and not believing them at all; did I think, WOW!  this is way cool!

Get fit by doing the hustle
Get fit by doing the hustle

So, we had to be at the set at 6am, many hours before our 9:45am segment.  Me, having anxiety-driven punctuality, show up at 5:30am with plenty of time to spare.  First one in the infamous “greenroom,” which isn’t at all green.  Actually, it was nothing like I had imagined it to be.  It felt more like a cheap hotel lobby/continental breakfast area.  The only difference is the people that cycle in and out of the room (everyone that will be appearing on the show + Al Roker) and the pictures of Matt, Meredith, Ann, Al, Natalie, Campbell, and Lester that hung on the walls.  And since we were not on until the last 15 minutes of the show, we got to see them all.

That’s good and bad.  Because, unfortunately, not everyone was there for such a momentous occassion as us.  As we were reveling in our 5 minutes of fame…laughing and enjoying each other’s company; the grieve-stricken, heartbroken Davis family was there.  Having just recovered the body of their beloved Jesse over the weekend, they were there under the worst circumstances imaginable…the last possible reason anyone would ever want to be on national television.  Yet another example of life’s greatest ironies…joy and despair.  A reality check of sorts.  In the height of our excitement and anticipation, they were in the depths of sadness and hell.  My mind quickly shifted to a greater sense of gratitude, because life changes in an instant.

But on a much lighter note, the experience was incredible.  To actually be a part of a show that I have been watching since I was a (little) kid was quite surreal and dream-like.  I shook hands with Matt Lauer, who is just as adorable in person, took my picture with Hoda Kotb, chatted with Jeanine Pirro, hung out with Donny Deutsch, Martina McBride, Al Roker, Natalie Morales, a childrens’ toy expert, and Tim Ferris, the author of “The 4-Hour Work Week.” Not bad for a morning’s work!  That was all before we even made our appearance.

The segment (which you can watch here) was great and went off without a hitch; well, besides me hitting Hoda with a jump rope.  Which I have already heard did not go unnoticed!  Besides that, it was alot of fun.  Everyone that works at the show was fabulous, kind and easy-going, even under that amount of stress.  It was definitely a once in a lifetime opportunity that I will never forget.  Thank you to everyone that watched and has sent emails in response.  That was one of the best parts, hearing from all of you.

Al, Hoda, Matt

8 Comments leave one →
  1. missy permalink
    June 26, 2007 11:24 pm

    Lara,
    Diane and I watched from Catalina. It was fabulous. We even told the lady at the front desk of the hotel about it. What a thrill to have a friend on the Today Show. You did a great job! I told Pat about it tonight when I got the chance to chat with him. I am really excited for you!!! Great job.
    Love,
    Missy

  2. Ginger permalink
    June 27, 2007 11:11 am

    Lara –

    Can you send an autographed picture of yourself to me !!!
    I didn’t know I was going to have a famous friend.

    I enjoy keeping up with your exciting life – You ALWAYS put a smile on my face.

    Take care & hope to see you one day soon 🙂

  3. July 2, 2007 5:41 pm

    AWESOME!!! I’m so glad they have a clip online and I could still check it out. I did see the jump rope incident, but I could also tell you mouthed “I’m Sorry”, which was very nice 🙂 You looked in perfect form! Very cool.

  4. Pop permalink
    July 2, 2007 9:10 pm

    Sweet Lara- I just want to go on record as your proud poppa, that I will put you up against anyone in doing a perfect push up!!!! Anyone who has seriously tried to do a few good push ups will tell you, this particular exercis will definately speak volumes of whether you are in or out of shape.
    Pop

  5. Vanessa permalink
    July 4, 2007 10:48 pm

    i didn’t know Martina McBride was on the show, WG i’m so jealous that you got to meet her, she’s one of my favorite singers! you’re still my favorite WG though! LMAO i’m glad you had a good time!

  6. July 5, 2007 9:54 am

    ok, so first of all I cant believe you were on t.v and I missed it live! aaaagh, thank goodness for the clip attatchment!!! secondly you are one fit little honey!! where do I sign up!!

  7. July 7, 2007 10:15 am

    Thank y’all for all of the wonderful comments and just watching in the first place! It definitely was one of those amazing experiences in life. It really has been a joy just hearing from all of you.

    While hardly famous, maybe I need to get some headshots to autograph and send out…they seem to be in high demand these days!!;) (KIDDING, of course)

    THANK YOU AGAIN!!

Trackbacks

  1. Getting to know more… « One Sweet World

Leave a Reply

