Skip to content

Still Running…

July 25, 2007

It’s been a while, I know.  I wish I had something really great to use as an excuse, such as I’ve been on vacation.  But that’s not the case.  It may somehow be related to the season, as in, my mind is relaxing somewhere on the beach (since my body is definitely not!) and not so much focused on writing.  And since I’m trying to relax a bit and not put so much pressure on myself all of the time, I decided I would write when the moment struck.  I figure it’s about that time to at least post a quick update of my Running Endeavor.

NYC StreetsIn short, I’m still running…as much as possible.  Between the summer heat, rain and terrible air quality (and a little slow down in motivation), I haven’t covered as much territory as I would have liked to.  But the days that I have gotten out, have felt great!  I’m feeling stronger and faster…thanks to more time spent working out in the gym. 

This morning I was able to head to Central Park early (after my 5:30am client) to enjoy a spectacular run before the intense heat and humidity kicked in.  After a hard 30 minutes, I decided to push myself a little more and see how fast I could make the last mile (assuming that 20 city street blocks are a mile).  Hoping to come in around 9:00 minutes or less…I pushed hard through each block…finishing more in the range of 6:30 – 7:00 min/mile.  This is huge for me!  I don’t think I’ve run that fast since I was kid running the mile in the Presidential Fitness Test.  And that was 1 mile only.  It was an exhilirating feeling to say the least!

Today was also one of those days that reminded me of how surreal it still feels to live in this city.  Here I was running through the streets of Central Park with so many others, surrounded by the beauty and grandness of this infamous landmark…and it hit me, this is my home.  As torn of a relationship as it is…it’s still my home.  And at that moment, it felt really great!  Another boost of motivation to keep pushing me towards my goal…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

