Skip to content

A Taste of Home

February 23, 2008

Mmmmmmm…today was a glorious day.  Not only was it another beautiful day here, but a perfect day to eat some true “southern” barbeque.  It’s been a LONG time since I’ve had good bbq…you know, good pulled pork.  And this wasn’t any ole place trying to be the real deal…it was the real deal. 

After finding out there was a Jim ‘N Nicks BBQ here, I immediately called my sister to pass along the good news.  For those of you who don’t know…Jim ‘N Nicks is a bbq joint from Alabama.  We use to eat there all of the time when living in Birmingham.  And it’s always a toss up between eating there or Superior Grille (mexican) when I go home.  But Superior always wins.  Because if there’s anything that I love more than good bbq is good mexican.  And since I couldn’t find either while living in NY…I always chose mexican.  Anyway…I digress.  So, I believe the exact words that came out of my sister’s mouth when I told her was,

“Shut up!”

“Yep!  Saw it today on Craigslist.”  (You can learn so much just by using that site…no lie!)

Since that conversation, we’ve been trying to figure out when we could go.  Well, today was the day.  I called her at work and said it was time…I had to have my fix.  We jumped in the car, picked up her boyfriend and met her out there.  We all had the same thing.  The pulled pork sandwich with french fries (me & Heather) or mashed potatoes (Victor & Mark).  It hit the spot!  And they have a new addition…cheese biscuits that they make fresh to order as soon as you sit down.  They were sweet, light and airy. 

 Maybe to some, this may not be the best bbq.  It probably isn’t.  For me, it is much more than food…it is the epitome of comfort food…it evokes good memories and a taste of home.  And what better way to enjoy it…than with family!

Jim ‘N Nicks
8264 E. 49th Ave.
Denver, CO 80238

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    February 25, 2008 11:32 am

    I am so jealous. It is so hard to get good BBQ out here. Don’t hold your breath on getting any good mexican food though. Western mexican sucks. I would kill for some white cheese dip!! =) So glad that you are updating your blog again. Keep the posts coming… -Kate Blanks

  2. Abby permalink
    February 26, 2008 5:22 am

    Lara, darlin, I’m so glad to finally get some updates on you. I’m excited about your new adventures in Colorado. I’m less surprised about your move and more surprised that you stayed in Brooklyn as long as you did. 🙂 I love your spirit and passion and hope you never stop feeding it with new adventures. Love you always, Abby and fam

Leave a Reply

