Skip to content

Job Hunt…

February 26, 2008

I’d like to know just how many times in one’s life you can look for a job?  Seriously, I think I’ve already well surpassed the average or the norm.  And how many times one can change fields of interest?  Have that one beat too.  Quite the accomplishment…especially before turning 30!  I’m really over it, to tell you the truth.  But here I am again.  Looking for yet another job.  And what I’ve found is…really nothing of interest.  The decisions.  Do I sacrifice myself and go back to accounting (the money is really appealing at this moment)?  Uggghhhhh…just the thought of it.  Or do I go back to personal training?  Or maybe try my hand at waitressing?  Or find an underpaying baking job for which I’m overqualified for?  None of these choices are too alluring.

Maybe I’m limiting myself.  I know there are jobs out there that pay half way descent and aren’t completely dreadful.  I know this…because I’m sitting here watching Samantha Brown on another one of her trips to Europe…and thinking (as usual)…how in the hell did she get this job??!!!  Seriously…who do you have to know?  (Obviously someone I don’t!) 

Looking for a job is like having a job…but tougher, and you don’t get paid.  I search all day, and the only thing fruitful that I have found is that Jim ‘N Nicks BBQ is here!  That really helps alot!  All of this only makes me wish I could open a business, like now.  Even though, that isn’t the answer to all of my prayers…at least I wouldn’t have to look for a job anymore!

So, the search continues.  If anyone has any ideas (or knows someone at the Travel Channel), please let me know.  I’m always up for suggestions….

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jo Martin permalink
    February 26, 2008 1:05 pm

    Can you give us more of an idea of what you are seeking?

  2. February 26, 2008 8:02 pm

    Job’s pay the bills. Starting a business won’t do that for awhile! Maybe you can do both (that would be a very NYC thing to do though)

  3. Kate permalink
    February 27, 2008 10:24 am

    Girl, I have been trying to get Samantha Brown’s job for years. That is one lucky biatch!
    What is your beef with accounting??? Good money, good benefits. Why don’t you start doing bookkeeping for small businesses from your home. Then you can make your own schedule, work as much or little as you want, and make good money doing it… Just a thought. I thought about doing the same thing here in PC. There is a pretty big market for it here–don’t know about Denver. Good luck.

  4. Vanessa permalink
    March 1, 2008 7:34 am

    i would say to also take the accounting job for now just to make some $, you know they’ll pay you because you have the experience. or do it part time even if you can’t see yourself doing accounting for 9-10 hours a day. the travel channel was doing a contest a few months ago because they were looking for a new host for some show, sorry i didn’t let you know but it’s too late now, lol

  5. Vanessa permalink
    March 2, 2008 10:48 am

    umm, don’t know if you’re interested or not but… http://yourtrip.travelchannel.com/special/Bourdain

Leave a Reply

