Skip to content

F**k Yeah!

March 13, 2008

Excuse the language…but that’s exactly what came out of the mouth of this dude about 30 times last night when we went to see Micky & the Motorcars at The Toad Tavern in Littleton, Colorado.  If I didn’t know better I would have thought I was in Alabama.  Seriously, not just because of this obnoxious redneck, but everyone else as well.  And don’t get me wrong…I love Alabama and Alabamians (I am one)…but “we” get such a bad rap.  And after taking a good look around last night, I was assured that rednecks live everywhere.  So does bad hair, Lee jeans, camouflage, and Budweiser.  But I digress.

Micky & the Motorcars
Micky & the Motorcars (Braun Brother Reunion)

Seeing Micky & the Motorcars brought back alot of good memories.  Three of the guys are from Stanley, Idaho where I use to live and work.  That’s where I first saw and heard them.  They would play at the local burger joint (which was actually the most incredible setting…along the Salmon River with the White Clouds and Sawtooth Mountains in the background) or the Rod & Gun Saloon (our local watering hole).  And since two of the guys are brothers and come from a musically blessed family…every summer they would all reunite to play the Braun Brother Reunion.  This reunion would include Micky and Gary Braun (Micky & the Motorcars), Cody and Willy Braun (Reckless Kelly) and their father, Muzzie Braun.  It was always a treat to get to see all of them play at different venues over the weekend.  But the summer of 2004 was the last time I have seen them.

Micky & the Motorcars
Street Jam 2004

Camping Out
Camping Out after the Braun Brother Reunion

Their music falls under the genre Americana/Alt-Country or something to that effect.  Whatever you want to call it…it’s definitely not your typical country…but a rockin’ version of it!  They have been living in the heart of this music world down in Austin, Texas for some time.  And I have been keeping track of them since I left Idaho.  Always hoping that they would make it to some place near wherever I was.  But no such luck.  Until last night. 

The crowd, although interesting, seemed to be big fans and spanned a range of ages.  Everyone was excited to see them back in Littleton and came ready to dance and (obviously) cheer them on wildly.  I happened to be sitting next to a couple who had not heard them before and had been convinced to come with a couple of their friends.  Half-way through, the guy next to me said to his buddy, ‘This is great! I’m a believer!’  And by night’s end had purchased one of their cds.  That was really cool to see.  Because I had never seen them in this sort of setting.  When they are in Stanley…yes, they are local celebrities…but everyone knows them.  I’m thrilled that they have picked-up a much-deserved following that is outside of their roots and their home base in Austin.  I can only hope that they will enjoy more success!  I recommend that you check ’em out yourself.  They also have a MySpace page that has several of their new tracks on it.

“F**K YEAH!! 

“PLAY IT LOUD!!”

(Sorry for the poor quality pictures…back from the days of film!!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Vanessa permalink
    March 13, 2008 9:02 pm

    lol, f*** yeah, lmao!

Leave a Reply

