Skip to content

They’re Back

May 6, 2008

THEN

Oh my gosh…seriously…they’re back. It feels like just yesterday, as well as, a lifetime ago. I can still picture it. “The Right Stuff” video, Jordan running around a cemetary…I was in love, with bad hair and worse clothes (although they seem to be back in style in Brooklyn these days). Knew every song by heart, chose Joey as my fave, and had every BOP and Tiger Beat poster on my wall, along with big buttons with his picture. NKOTB was everywhere. My mom was even sweet enough to take us to the concert, where we yelled and sang and managed to come home with black t-shirts with fluorescent puff writing. It was my first concert, and I will never forget it. I had all of the VHS tapes, cassettes, trading cards and anything else considered cool. It was a great time to be a kid in love and better yet, to have 5 hot guys to choose from.

Now those memories come racing back as the announcement of the New Kids reunion surfaces. They’re men now, almost 15 years older. And I am almost 30. It’s a perfect time to reflect back on those years as I get ready to move into a new age bracket. It’s almost surreal. I find out about this and also have a dream about my best friend from that time period whom I just got in touch with for the first time in about as many years as it’s been since I’ve thought about New Kids on the Block. She was my sidekick, as we watched Jordan and the boys for the first time. Jordan was my first crush, but I switched as soon as I saw Joey sing “Please Don’t Go Girl.” I’ll never forget her room…her wall of fame outdid mine any day. Agghhh…those were the days.

Anyway…for those of you who can relate…check out their website and read up on all of the latest news on their up and coming album and tour. It’s worth the walk down memory lane.

Well…have to go watch some more videos on youtube.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    May 8, 2008 5:33 pm

    I can not wait to go to their reunion concert!! =) NKOTB 4 eva!

  2. Pops Wolny permalink
    May 11, 2008 6:05 pm

    Lara – We must have connected in the surreal as I met two very close friends for golf and dinner this past week. The last time we saw each other was 24 years ago. It was great and proves people may get older and get wrinkles and loose their hair but their mannerisms stay the same.

    Mom read this blog and she remembers the concert well, she even dug around for the tape, but came up empty.

    Love Ya Mom and Pop’s

  3. Keri Austin permalink
    May 15, 2008 4:30 pm

    How much do you think we listened to NKOTB on the way to gymnastics every night????? That makes me laugh to think about that concert and how lucky I was to get to go with Tatum. Anyway, hope you are well and please, NO MORE PICTURES OF FOOD ON THE BLOG!! Too many memories of how great the food was at your house growing up.

Trackbacks

  1. My 1st Red Rocks Experience… « One Sweet World

Leave a Reply

