Skip to content

Preoccupation

June 19, 2008

I read this article today in the NY Times and wondered where it was when I was getting ready to graduate from high school.  This is the exact thing I preach all of the time to younger people and anyone who will listen.  And only wish that it would some how become part of the requirements for getting into college.  I think most of us went to college with absolutely no idea what we wanted to do with our lives.  And some (like me) are still trying to figure that out.  So, how in the world do you ask something as monumental as that of a 17/18 year old???  This girl was actually smart enough and brave enough to do what was right for her and not what everyone thought she should do.  I think that’s where we go wrong.  Somehow, we’re old enough to decide what we want to do with our lives; yet, we’re too young to decide to take another path??  Not sure how that makes sense. 

All I know is that I have been way more educated by my real world, life experiences than anything that I have been taught in a classroom.  Not to say that college in itself wasn’t a wonderful, growing experience.  But it was not the platform for me to learn what I wanted to do in life.  I have only begun to get closer to that answer through living each day the best that I can.  Trying to find those strengths and weaknesses.  Actually experimenting in the fields in which I am interested. 

Over 10 years have gone by since I decided that accounting should be my major.  And over those 10+ years, I have had more than 10 different jobs in 3 completely different fields.  And as I write this, I am back to square one…accounting.  And all I can think about every single day is how the hell I am going to get out, once again.  The elusive answer still out there somewhere.  What is it that I actually want to do?  So, my quest continues.  But articles like this, although a little late, come as new inspiration. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    June 23, 2008 3:08 pm

    So glad that you are back blogging.

  2. June 23, 2008 4:51 pm

    Thanks Kate! After spending all day working at the computer, it gets hard to find the motivation to blog for fun! But thanks for continuing to check and read… Hope you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

