Skip to content

CHANGE Over the Year

January 11, 2009
Fireworks over NYC

A View from Brooklyn. courtesy of kris robertson

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

What better way to catch up and start anew than at the end of one year and the beginning of another! It’s been awhile and CHANGE has managed to find it’s way into my life (as always) and the lives of most of humanity. The word itself has become synonymous with the year 2008. As I’m sure many history books will read one day. We have all experienced and witnessed the heights of victory and the depths of despair. Lives have been forever altered whether through the financial downfall or the historical election. Even in the midst of an economical meltdown, we were able to focus on the hope we have for this country. I am truly grateful for having been witness to such a momentous occasion and consider it a highlight of my year.

But as I reflect back over what was a year that passed liked a shooting star. I find myself able to recall almost every single day in my memory as if each of them were just yesterday. I know it sounds cliche, but it’s so true. This was the fastest year on record for me, but I feel as if each day made a lasting impact on my memory…however insignificant.

The year was filled with change and more change. I changed cities, changed jobs, relationships changed and then, it all changed again. But that’s only the more tangible changes. 2008 proved to be another year filled with learning and growth experiences.

Goodbye Apt 2J Denver Home Cheeseman Park Keystone Me & Temple

I marked my 30th year here and began to embrace a new decade, which I hope will be even more fulfilling than my 20’s. I said goodbye to new friends and a city I had grown to love but reunited with old friends and the mountains I had left behind. Family played a more leading role and personal relationships took a different path. I found auditing is still how I remembered it and baking is still what I love to do. Made more money, but felt less accomplished. I walked less and drove more. Yet through all of these variables, some constants remain…dreams of distant lands, feelings of wanderlust and struggles with conformity.

15 years laterJUMP!Rockies GameSpandex SurpriseArches National Park

So, here we are. A new year before us…350 some odd days remaining to take advantage of. On the eve of a new era, with only eight days left until the inauguration of our President-elect, 2009 holds much promise for a fresh start as individuals and as a country. Most of us have set goals or made resolutions in the hope that this will be the year of change in our lives. But what will make this year different from all that have preceded it? What will you do with the opportunities you are given? Change is a remarkable thing, but only if we can recognize it as such.

Frisco, COI'm 30!!!Obama Rally - Denver YES WE DID!!!

In the upcoming days, I will start revealing my plans for the year ahead and then, hopefully, you will follow me as I see just how far along I actually get on this new adventure. Here’s to filling 2009 with alot of Carpe Diem, Hakuna Matata, and C’est la vie!!

It takes a lot of courage to release the familiar and seemingly secure, to embrace the new. But there is no real security in what is no longer meaningful. There is more security in the adventurous and exciting, for in movement there is life, and in CHANGE there is power.” – Alan Cohen

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Missy permalink
    January 15, 2009 7:48 pm

    I am so happy you are back to blogging. I can’t wait to follow the adventures you will set out to live. I am so glad I was able to see you twice this year…what a treat. I miss your smiling face. I hope the new year brings you much joy, adventure, and love. Will be checking on you often.

  2. January 15, 2009 9:13 pm

    Thanks Miss! It was definitely a highlight of my year to get to see you, as well. You have an upcoming adventure of your own that I can’t wait to keep up with! 😉 Lots of love…

  3. temple permalink
    January 29, 2009 8:51 pm

    It is so good to be reading all of this again. I am really missing you right now as I need someone to play with in the snow —- and someone to dance with!!! Keep dancing. Love you so much.

  4. Michael permalink
    January 30, 2009 4:42 pm

    good luck with the adventure keep us posted.

  5. drew terew permalink
    March 9, 2009 9:30 pm

    Hey lara it was great to hear from you and what’s going on in your life. It was really refreshing to read your blog, because i am also in the market for change. Just need to shake things up a bit. Still in Jackson and loving it but not sure where life will take me next. As much as i love it here, my life personally has become meaningless, and kind of a mess right now, so I just wanted to thank you for the inspiring blog. Miss you a lot and maybe I’ll see you down the road, till then I’ll continue to keep in touch and please keep me posted with all the exciting things that come your way. Stay well.

Leave a Reply

