Skip to content

Where in the (sweet) WORLD to begin?

January 27, 2009
Where in the world to start?

One Sweet World

Almost two years ago I started this blog in order to document the things that I think make this life so sweet, whether it was personal goals, news worthy events, special finds or anything else random. 

At the time, I was still living in Brooklyn, starting a new job and had also decided to take up a lofty running endeavor, which I thought would be cool to post about on here.  For those of you who followed me, thank you!  However, if you did, you know that I didn’t quite complete what I had set out to do, and I think about that alot these days.  But the other day, I went back to that inital post and reread my so-called mission statement.  What I realized is that, even though I didn’t run every street, I did reach my goal.  With every mile I ran, I became stronger both mentally and physically, and I began to experience a sense of inner peace that I hadn’t felt in years.  Every aspect of my life became a little clearer.  My confidence was back, and I felt so alive!  I also had begun to finally appreciate the beauty of the city and it’s inhabitants.  So although I only covered about 50-60% of the streets, I had achieved my goal and much more.  New York finally felt like home.

Oddly enough, just as I was settling into this home of mine, I packed up and headed west.  It’s been almost a year now since I moved out of Brooklyn, yet I feel the lasting impact everyday.  Unfortunately, I’m no longer in Denver either.  After only nine short months, life changed again, and it was time to move on.   

So, almost like clockwork, I am feeling the call of another adventure.  Thinking…where to begin in this big beautiful world?  I stare at the map, examining every inch of it.  Imagining.  Plotting.  Dreaming. 

Although I have absolutely no plans at this moment, I do know where my first stop will be.  In less than two weeks, I will be setting off on an adventure unlike any other that I’ve experienced.  However, I will be packing all of the tools that I’ve accumulated over the past decade, hoping they will serve me well. 

As I fly off to the Pacific with the island of Maui in my sights, I will be making every effort to keep this blog as a virtual journal of what begins there and ends (TBD?).  And I invite all of you to follow me, once again, wherever the wind may take me as I discover all that makes this life so sweet…

“A person needs at intervals to separate from family and companions and go to new places. One must go without familiars in order to be open to influences, to change.”  – Katharine Butler Hathaway

5 Comments leave one →
  1. pop permalink
    January 30, 2009 9:19 am

    Dear lara – mom and iappreciate the time we had with you.

    We understand its time for you to adventure on.

    Love you, pop

  2. January 30, 2009 11:31 am

    Lara -I am greedy and need more from this post! Are you venturing out on a world tour? Are you buying tickets as you go, or do you have a path planned out? More updates please! I wish I could meet you somewhere. Maybe it will happen, if Amai unleashes it’s hold on me 🙂

  3. January 30, 2009 6:17 pm

    Hi Kelli! I would love, love to meet you and Andrew somewhere…that would be awesome! So get to working on that…you are the boss! 😉 And keep watching…the next post will be about my plans (or lack thereof).

  4. Missy permalink
    January 31, 2009 9:57 am

    Can’t wait to keep up with you through your blog. I love you! Be safe and take care of yourself. You are a very determined person and I know the Lord will watch over you on your journey! Enjoy every minute of your travels.

Trackbacks

  1. Plans Delayed = Life Lessons « One Sweet World

Leave a Reply

