Skip to content

The Two P’s: Planning & Procrastination

February 1, 2009

I am much better at one than the other.  Planning has never been my forte.  Procrastination and indecisiveness, however, are two of my stronger points.  Yet, I wonder if the two even have much correlation.

Lots of you have asked about my plans for this trip, and, at times, I wish I could come up with something more specific.  Truth is, I don’t really have any.  I have ideas about places I want to see and things I want to do.  Nothing more than that.

I’ve never been a planner.  I didn’t plan to be a gymnast or cheerleader.  Never thought too much about college or what I would do after.  I would have never guessed I would be an accountant, baker or personal trainer and live a nomadic lifestyle.  I’ve also never thought much about a 5, 10, or 20 year plan.  All I have managed to do is arm myself with the tools necessary to take life as it comes and try to make the most of it. 

It’s not to say that I haven’t thought alot about any of those or this upcoming world tour, of sorts.  This whole idea has actually been years in the making.  Just thinking about venturing out into this big world of unknowns – alone – is definitely enough to cause most a mild case of anxiety.  Therefore, our initial reaction would be to make plans, which gives us the illusion of control.  However, I have chosen to trust more and worry less.  Leaving the details up to a higher power.  Anyway, in my analytical mind, it’s hard to make constants out of so many variables. 

Yet, with all of that said, I do have a tentative outline in my head, just with no specific timelines or exactness.  Again, I will start in Maui and continue west after that.  Setting my sights on Australia and New Zealand.  And if all goes well, I want to make my way through parts of Asia, Europe and beyond.  Keeping an open mind and not marking anything off.  There are endless options…we’ll just have to wait and see where I’ll end up!

Until then, here are a few sites/links that have been invaluable resources:

BootsnAll– Excellent source for preparing, especially for round-the-world (RTW) trips
Matador – A community of travellers
Lonely Planet – Everything travel, best known for travel guidebooks
Kayak – Great site for cheap airfare
NY Times Travel – Travel ideas, especially their annual Places to Go

“Life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans.” – John Lennon

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    February 5, 2009 11:12 am

    Take me with you, Wolnut!
    Are you going to work at each different place or do you have a bunch of money saved up?
    Are you not dating that dude anymore?

  2. Julia permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:43 pm

    Just wanted you to know that I’m with you on your journey! I admire you and may you find many wonderful ‘things’ on your way!! I love you…Julia

Trackbacks

  1. Plans Delayed = Life Lessons « One Sweet World

Leave a Reply

