Skip to content

Trip Delayed = Life Lessons

February 18, 2009

When I stated earlier that I hoped to post on a weekly basis, with exception for limited connectivity, I was picturing exotic places I would be experiencing; therefore, too consumed by my surroundings to be worried about the internet and this blog. I wasn’t, however, factoring in other possible variables. Say, my grandfather gets sick, and I would be taking care of him for a few weeks. Which equals no internet connection, except for time spent at the doctor’s office and hospital.

But that’s exactly what has happened and why over two weeks have passed without an update.

For many weeks and months, I had been imagining what this post would read like. Since I had intended on being in Maui at this point, I figured it would include something with lots of ewwws and aahhhs. Going on and on about the incredible beauty of this magical place, and how I couldn’t believe I had finally made it here. I also figured I’d have an interesting travel story to tell about the 25 hour trek across the country and Pacific to reach this magnificent island.

However, as I sit here in what is probably the exact opposite of Hawaii, looking out the window of a hospital, watching the snow fall, I’m left thinking about my previous post. Aahhh, the art of planning. That thing we do in order to feel some sense of control in our lives. That thing I’m not at all that good at. And as luck would have it, or maybe that Higher Power I believe in had something to do with it, but the one and only plan that I had made (in the form of a flight reservation, which would have taken me to Kahului on Feb. 7), fell through. So, as the story goes, plans change. Life happens.

This is why the art of flexibility has become more of a strength. I’ve learned to embrace the journey, trusting that I’m exactly where I’m suppose to be. Even if that place happens to look more like Ohio than Hawaii, at this moment. That’s not to say I wasn’t a bit disappointed. Sure I was. I’ve been thinking, preparing and anxiously waiting for some time now to leave. Only for that to be put on hold.

What I’ve found is that flexibility has to be paired with patience and optimism. As I sit here waiting – to see what happens to my grandfather and for my travels to begin – I can’t help but recognize the ironies of life. My grandfather is dying, as are all of us, unfortunately, he’s planning for a shorter period of time. Where as, I’m looking forward to all of the endless opportunities and possibilities that lay ahead of me. And even though it would be easy to feel frustrated by this slight delay in plans, I can’t help but feel more sure that every, single detail of our life has a reason and a purpose. This was an unforeseen start to my year of adventure, but there is absolutely no place I’d rather be at this very moment…not even Hawaii.

 “Man makes plans, and God just laughs.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    February 23, 2009 10:26 am

    Lara…I’m so sorry to hear about your g’father! Oh my, I remember him being at your house oh so many Christmases ago like it was just yesterday-where does time go. Life does take its turns but God teaches us to be patient…which I’ve so come to ‘practice’. (2 kids and a husband will do that?! 🙂 Anyway, I am truly sorry to hear about him; please keep me posted! And, Hawaii is not going anywhere! It will wait for you and will be even grander upon your arrival! I love and miss you bunches…my prayers are with you and your family! julia

  2. March 1, 2009 9:28 pm

    It’s even better that you weren’t already in Maui. I’m sure you would have wanted to come back to help. I hope things are going as well as possible with him.

  3. Carolina Maine permalink
    July 2, 2009 6:13 pm

    I’m sorry your grandfather was ill and that you were able to spend time with him. I wrote a post about my grandparents too, but it was time sensitive. I love your blog!

    • July 2, 2009 8:01 pm

      Thanks Laura! Although unexpected, it has been a blessing in disguise. I have learned more in these past few months than years have taught me. Funny how life works. Send me a link to your blog sometime. Glad you stopped by for a visit… 🙂

Leave a Reply

